Stories

Join Open Doors for a Prayer Webinar May 10

March 30, 2018 by Lindy Lowry in

“Pray that we will stand strong in face of persecution.”

It is the No. 1 prayer request we receive from persecuted believers–pray for our faith. 

At Open Doors, one of our seven core values says that we are People of Prayer. On May 10, church leaders and believers will come together throughout the world to lift hearts and voices, interceding for our brothers and sisters who are living and dying for their faith in Jesus.

Please join us for a time of focused collective prayer for the persecuted Church, as we pray specifically for:

  • North Korea, the #1 country on the World Watch List for the last 16 years–and a secret Church of 300,000 believers who risk it all to follow Jesus.
  • Nigeria, #14 on the World Watch List where extremist groups like Boko Haram and Hausa-Fulani militant herdsmen target Christians, ravage villages and conduct murderous acts of violence.
  • India, #11 on the World Watch List where persecution against the country’s 63 million Christians continues to increase in intensity as Hindu nationalists vow to eradicate Christians from India by 2020.
  • Afghanistan, #2 on the World Watch List, almost tying for #1 with North Korea. The country known for its intolerance and violence against Christians has a couple thousand secret believers who are standing boldly for their faith.
  • Somalia, #3 on the World Watch List where Islamic jihadist group al-Shabaab runs rampant, exerting its influence. Over the last few years, Islamic militants have intensified their hunt for Christians, regarded by al-Shabaab operatives regard as high-value targets. Upon discovery, Christians are often killed on the spot.
  • Egypt, #17 on the World Watch List and a hotbed for persecution over the last several years. May 15 marks the start of Ramadan, the Muslim holy month when Christians in Egypt and throughout the Muslim world see increased persecution.
  • Children of the persecuted Church, often the forgotten victims of persecution. When the persecuted person is a mother or a father, it has extra implications. Not only was this person beaten, imprisoned or killed, but now there is also a void in a family somewhere.
  • The persecutors, whom Jesus blatantly commanded us to pray for … when we remember that before meeting Jesus, Paul was a chief persecutor of Christians, we can pray that today’s persecutors would each have their own Damascus Road turning points.

Join Open Doors staff and supporters LIVE on the evening of May 10:

6 pm Pacific

7 pm Mountain

8 pm Central

9 pm Eastern

Click below to register to participate from your computer or to listen online from your phone.

Open Doors Prayer Webinar

 

Share Your Comment